• Govt appoints Olympians as National Observers

    PTIMar 21, 2017, 08:49 IST

    New Delhi: The government of India has designated 12 Olympians, including Beijing Olympic gold medallist shooter Abhinav Bindra, as National Observers in their respective disciplines to assist in preparation and implementation of the long-term development plan.

    Besides Bindra, other named as National Observers are PT Usha and Anju Bobby George (athletics), Sanjeev Kumar Singh (archery), Aparna Popat (badminton), MC Mary Kom and Akhil Kumar (boxing), Jagbir Singh (hockey), Somdev Devvarman (tennis), Karnam Malleshwari (weightlifting), Sushil Kumar (wrestling), IM Vijayan (football), Khajan Singh (swimming) and Kamlesh Mehta (table tennis).

    According to a statement issued by the Sports Ministry , the National Observers would be playing a key role in implementation of action plans for Mission Olympics 2020, 2024 and 2028.

    “Apart from providing inputs for their respective disciplines, the National Observers would be consulted as a group on crosscutting issues impacting sports development in the country,” said the statement from the Sports Ministry.

    Read Full Article